Imitation of mary

I am reading IMITATION OF MARY by ALEXANDER DE ROUVILLE and I am wondering what others think of this book.

I am a new convert and it saddens me to say that MARY was the last obstacle that I had to overcome during my journey into the Church. As a former INDEPENDENT FUNDAMENTAL BAPTIST, I had never been taught anything about Mary other than Her role as the Lord’s Mother. We were also taught that She was “just a regular girl” who was chosen to bring Christ into the world.:frowning:

When I started studying the Churches teachings on our Blessed Mother, I had NO problem accepting Her Immaculate Conception or Her Eternal Virginity. I was even able to readily accept Her role as Co-Redemtrix (NOT that her role was EQUAL to Christ’s but that She willingly works BESIDE and unquestionably WITH Him to show us that He is our way to Salvation).

My difficulty was giving Mary honor or devotion. To me, it felt like I was somehow being asked to take glory that should be given to Christ and to give it to His Mother. It seemed backwards to me.

I kept thinking about the Scripture that says that GOD is a jealous GOD. I was terrified that if I let myself love Mary, somehow GOD would be angry with me!

I prayed A LOT!!! I asked Jesus to help me to know what is right. Then one night I had a dream.

In the dream Mary was standing by my bed. She was so BEAUTIFUL and she was smiling at me. She spoke! I recognized the words immediately!!! “MY SOUL DOTH MAGNIFY THE LORD.” As She said these words, I heard Jesus speaking inside my mind…“MY MOTHER DOESN’T TAKE ANYTHING AWAY FROM ME, SHE DRAWS THEM CLOSER TO ME.” Suddenly, I realized that Her Souls purpose was and is to MAGNIFY Him!!

When I woke up, I was so excited! I knew that my dream was the answer to my prayer! All of my fears were washed away!! Now I can’t get enough of Mary!!! I know She loves me and I know UNQUESTIONABLY that our Lord gave Her to ALL of us that day from the Cross.