In a state of sin

I have a problem that hopefully I can get some advice on. I have been for the past 4 months trying to stop masturbating as I now know that it is a sin. (I have been doing this for 15 years daily so I find this very difficult to do). However through prayer and self-control I have for the most part been able to avoid doing so. The problem arises when I do give in and can’t get to confessions for a few days to a week. I find that once I do it, I lose all self-control until I finally get to confessions (we only have confessions on Saturdays.)

I find praying doesn’t seem to help when I’m in this state; all rationality leaves and then I feel bad afterwards. Any advice on how to avoid sinning again once the door is open until I close it when I go to confessions?

First of all, I will keep you in my prayers as you deal with this sin. It is a very hard habit to break, especially since you have been in the habit for so many years. I read something once from St. Jean Vianney (aka Cure D’Ars) about the very thing you are going through with dealing with temptation while waiting for confession. He said that suppose you had a husband that was abusive to his wife. He knew what he did was wrong but would often lose his temper and hit her. Now, if he once again abused his wife and while waiting for confession kept engaging in hitting his wife figuring “what does it matter, I have to go to confession anyways and am in the state of sin”, who in there right minds would think it’s ok for him to keep hurting his wife just because he’s already in the state of mortal sin and doesn’t have to control himself???