Inability to handle confrontation and wanting to be a professor

Since I feel called to academia as a theology professor I expect to face a lot of resistance from students in the classroom, given that Catholic beliefs are oftentimes a subject of very heated debate amongst people and I expect to be challenged quite often by students on theological subjects.

I have strong beliefs on Catholicism but unless I am given several days to prepare I am not very capable of responding to arguments on the spot with effective rebuttals. And as someone aspiring to be a professor of the Faith I feel that it is absolutely necessary to be able to handle confrontation as it happens and without looking weak. I oftentimes get easily lost in the debate and find my arguments for the faith weak, lacking, and incapable of answering the harshest questions secularism asks of my Faith. And even if I am given time to respond I often find my arguments still don't work (either because I can really prove them or they are too readily refuted or they are too harsh).

How can I remedy this?

I think that by the time you have a PhD in theology most people would have the ability to defend their position. As a teacher, you know the arguments students will present and you are prepared for them. That will come as part of your preparation process for teaching and through more thorough knowledge of your subject matter.

If you are unprepared for an argument, you simply state “that’s an interesting point to debate. However, we will continue with our discussion/topic today and pick up your points next time…” Then you have time to prepare. Just because a student brings something up, doesn’t mean you have to address it right then.

On the other hand, if you cannot become comfortable in an authoritative role, with classroom management, and with extemporaneous speaking, then maybe classroom teaching is not for you.