Incense and a Newborn?

Sunday before last we visited a parish we’ve been considering joining (closer to our home and more orthodox) and brought with us, of course, our two children, ages two years and six weeks. Everything went fine until they brought out the incense pot, and then the cathedral filled with fragrant smoke and I began to worry that my newborn should not be inhaling it. I know there has been established a strong link between cigarette smoke and SIDS, and I see no reason (though I’m no scientist) that the rule about no smoke around a baby should not also apply to other types of smoke, including incense.

Anyone have thoughts, ideas, or information on the subject?

Thanks,

Mary

Unless your baby is showing signs of unusual sensitivity or perhaps if there is a history of serious allergies or asthma I wouldn’t worry about an hour a week.

Is this a cathedral where incense is going to be an every week occurance or was it a special occasion?

Why don’t you check with your pediatrician or an asthma clinic? I think National Jewish Hospital in Denver has an asthma hotline. Regardless, I’d stay in the back corner of the church during the incense ceremony. Why risk damaging your precious baby’s tiny, new lungs?

[quote=SMHW]Unless your baby is showing signs of unusual sensitivity or perhaps if there is a history of serious allergies or asthma I wouldn’t worry about an hour a week.

Is this a cathedral where incense is going to be an every week occurance or was it a special occasion?
[/quote]

It’s part of their regular service, I’m pretty sure. And normally I would love that, but for our particular situation.

Cupofkindness, thanks for the suggestions. I think I will start with the pediatrician.