Infallibility/Protection from teaching error question

I was looking at Judas Thaddeus’ thread about praying his private devotion and one of the responses got me wondering. The response said that priests are not infallible and can give faulty advice. My question is: isn’t the Magisterium made up of priests? When do they get the Holy Spirit’s protection from teaching error? This is just something that got me wondering.

Don’t get me wrong, I am a traditional Catholic, faithful to the Church and her teachings, I just got curious about when the Spirit’s protection from error kicks in. Thanks! Please go easy on me. I’m a newbie and usually super shy! Going out on a limb here with my question. Thanks! :slight_smile:

ewtn.com/library/ANSWERS/EXPLINFA.HTM

Peace

Great article! Thanks, hazcompat! This clears it up for me.

Welcome to the forums
Mary.

Thank you MaryT777!

As a Convert myself it takes time to learn all about the Faith, but its only by asking do we learn or by reading. Always if in doubt come to the Forum and you will get it straight, rather think in error, when its so simple just to ask.

Try and do a bit of reading every day, Lives of the Saints, Church Fathers, Catechism of the Catholic Church, get a simple one that is easy to use and read.

Let us as Converts pray across the miles together for a better understanding of the Church’s teachings and stay close to the Bride of Christ - The Church- if we follow her teachings the best as we can, it will bring us more happiness here on earth than you will know and in the next.

May Our Lady’s shawl be always around your shoulders.::signofcross:

Of course we need to be humble and realize that we in the forum can be wrong too.