Infant Baptism

I heard before that this tradition started ever since the time of Nero where Christian infants were being slaughtered, so what the early church would do was baptize the infant just incase. Is there any historical evidence for this or was there a different reason for this?

Where did you hear this? I’ve never heard of this claim. Granted, I’m no historical expert, but I’m 99% sure that’s not why the Early Church baptized infants. It’s to wipe Original Sin and mark their souls as Catholics–that’s why.

I’ve never before heard that Nero was the reason for the practice of infant baptism. Be that as it may, that explanation doesn’t make much sense. If Christians saw a need to baptize their infants because Nero might kill their infants, would Christians not also have a need to baptize their infants because their infants might die from natural causes? Or, are we to think that the infants of Christians never die from natural causes?

Christians baptize infants because Jesus said, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born anew, he cannot see the kingdom of God. . . . Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God.” (John 3:3,5)

There have been times in history where people *put off *baptism until later in life, so it’s possible that when that thinking was prevalent, persecution of Christians might have encouraged people to baptize earlier. But children have been baptized from the time of the apostles.

Is there historical or/and scriptural proof of children being baptized during the time of the apostles?

catholic.com/tracts/infant-baptism

Here is an excellent resource to get you started. :slight_smile:

Nero? Wow. That’s pretty early. Peter and Paul were still alive at that time.

Here are some quotes from the Early Church Fathers, and many of them state that the practice of baptizing infants was apostolic in origin:

Early Church Fathers on Infant Baptism

Polycarp (69-155 AD)