Innocents Christianity has killed

I am not good at short snappy answers. Of course it has to be a true answers. Here is my question: On a non-religious forum that widely reflects the cultural ignorance and hostility to Christianity, I mentioned Holy Innocents Day and someone asked, simply, “I wonder how many innocents Christianity has killed in the centuries since?”

This person is not asking for a deep discussion, but I can’t just let this go without some *short *defense. Plus, I get very annoyed, and that does not help my argument. Any ideas?

Unfortunately, the only honest answer is, “Too many.”

Oh, I didn’t know Christianity was about killing innocents.

It’s not, of course, but we can’t be so naive as to think that no blood has been spilled in the name of Christianity over the past 2,000 years. And some of that blood was from children.

So, by attempting to deny something that has happened, Christians make themselves look bad in the eyes of non-believers.

Same thing with the priest scandal, for example. Why deny something that is obviously true?

Those who did it “in the name of Christianity” used Christianity as an excuse for their own ends. Killing innocents is not what we teach. Even Jesus had a betrayer of all He taught among His Twelve.

As to the priest scandal, yes, in the same way we have betrayers in the Priesthood, and becoming Catholic does not magically make you stop sinning all of the sudden against your will. However, what most people do not realize is that you are FAR, FAR more likely to be molested in a public school setting than in a Catholic Church.

Yes, I know.

The point, however, is that when a Catholic or a Christian of another fellowship begins to say anything that sounds like an excuse, the non-believer immediately shuts off.

Why not simply say: “You have a point. Many people have done bad things in the name of Christianity…and yet, they were wrong to do so, because killing innocent children is not what Jesus taught us to do.”