inspiration of scripture

I was told by a Protestant to read an argument that proves some books in the Catholic Bible is not inspired by God. He called it apocalypse or something close. How do I respond?

You mean apocrypha?

I'm actually studying Biblical inspiration right now, but I don't know too much about these books. From my understanding, the apocryphal books are not part of the original Hebrew Bible, but were declared canonical and divinely inspired by the Council of Trent.

What is his argument against the authority of these books?

[quote="gkhierholz, post:1, topic:276188"]
I was told by a Protestant to read an argument that proves some books in the Catholic Bible is not inspired by God. He called it apocalypse or something close. How do I respond?

[/quote]

Is he talking about why Protestants have 66 books and Catholics have 73 books?

It looks like your friend does not know the history of the Bible.

Read this and refute your friend.....catholicapologetics.info/apologetics/protestantism/wbible.htm

If your friend also cites the Hebrew canon...then read this article.....catholicdefense.blogspot.com/2011/07/can-protestants-rely-upon-council-of.html

Ask him why he follows an anti-Christian decision?

The books known as the Deuterocanon were in use by the Church from the first days. Since each of those books is part of the Old Testament, they existed before the Church. Notice that those 7 books had to be preserved by the Jews some 200-odd years in order for the Christian Church to have them. They were preserved for a reason. Every writing in the Catholic bible was used, somewhere in the early Church, since day 1. Remember that the Jews also had no canon of OT scripture at the time. They endeavored to determine one in response to the rise of Christianity - and so those efforts must be viewed as tainted, since there clearly was motive to suppress messianic books that alluded to Christian practices and teachings.