Intelligence, education, and the Bible's message

We often read that god’s message about his existence and intentions are clearly stated in scripture, and it’s there for all to see. If that’s true why do some of the most intelligent, educated groups in the world not get this message? Does intelligence and education create skepticism? Are the messages in scripture formulated for certain human characteristics, and that makes them less convincing to those with certain other characteristics?

Some stats on religious belief among scientist, and on countries with a high educational level.

adherents.com/largecom/com_atheist.html
pitzer.edu/academics/faculty/zuckerman/atheism.html
kspark.kaist.ac.kr/Jesus/Intelligence%20&%20religion.htm
secularhumanism.org/library/fi/bishop_19_3.html
geographyiq.com/ranking/rankings.htm

As a scientist, I will remark that scientists are just as stupid and screwed up as everyone else. We happen to be highly trained in very narrow fields, and like to offer our opinions on a wide variety of other things in which we have no formal training, and about which we’ve never thought particularly deeply. Just like your Uncle Frank who shows up at Thanksgiving and pontificates about everything from history to politics to religion and society as if he knows something, but really is just another crackpot who sits around at home in his underwear and thinks fluoride in the drinking water is a conspiracy.