Intensive Spanish language program pre-seminary?

Hi, I will likely be entering the seminary next fall, God-willing, but in the meantime I am going to have substantial free time in which to work/study, etc. I have some experience with Spanish, really a basic conversational proficiency (actually that is being generous), and it occurred to me that one of the best things I could do in the time that I have is to really learn Spanish well.

Does anyone know of a program, ideally one involving seminarians or men preparing for seminary, that teaches Spanish in the context of total immersion-- either in the US or abroad?

Thanks!

Dave:

Just to start off, I would check with your diocese or religious order. The reason I say this is several dioceses want seminarians to know Spanish before ordination. Other dioceses highly recommend knowing Spanish.

One seminarian from the Diocese of Amarillo told me, “no espanol, no ordinacion.”

Here’s a few suggestions:

1. Attend a Spanish Mass (or bilingual Mass) once a month or so. That will help you learn some of the prayers (oraciones en espanol) in Spanish. Personally, an all Spanish Mass still goes a little too fast for me (even with a translated missalete), but I’m comfortable con oraciones en espanol en la misa de bilingual.

2. Consider enrolling in a conversational Spanish class at a local community college.

3. You could try “Rosetta Stone”.

4. If you will be a college seminarian, Spanish may be a requirement in the college division.

I will also add that since Spanish is Latin-based, Spanish will help you with Latin, and vice-versa. I noticed this on a few occasions when I attended the Traditional Latin Mass.

Hope this is a good start.

Buena Suerte.

Well, besides taking a class, I’d find a Spanish Mass and a Parish with an Hispanic Pastor, I’d find out where I could volunteer and work with immigrants or others in the Spanish-speaking community. Go forth young man and immerse thyself!!!