Intersexed People

Something that occurred to me today, was how would an individual who is intersex, born with both male and female characteristics, be viewed by the Church? Of course we are to accept them, but how should a Catholic person born with the intersex changes, identify as? Their outward appearance, or, whether they have the male or female sex organs?

The second part to my question is if an inter-sexed male was born (with male sex organs), but yet had various female features, would such a fellow be able to avail of the surgical techniques to remove the female characteristics? Or would this be an immoral action?

Would such a man or woman be able to become a Priest or a nun, sister, religious brother, etc? Or are they called to a chaste life of prayer?

I’m not a doctor, but from what I have heard about these conditions, there are two types… one where the person is genetically one gender, but whose genitalia is ambiguous. The other is a chimera, where a male and female twin’s embryos fused on the first day, literally making the person both male and female. Usually some parts carry the male DNA and other parts carry the female DNA.

The first example, one is either male or female. There isn’t a question of gender. The second is not so clear, and I’m guessing that that person would have to be carefully examined by a knowledgeable physician. It may simply be a tragedy.

Anyone can become a religious sister or brother, but one has to be able to perform the sexual act (not to be confused with fertility) in order to be a priest or married. So, I’m guessing if the person is unable to give of him/herself in the sexual act, they are unable to marry or become a priest.

As for SSA, it’s a growing problem. We know that all these hormones that women are taking and being dumped in our food are now affecting our fish and other animals. Fish’s genders are being affected, which begs the question, “are human’s genders/attractions being affected?”

I