IRS says it lost Lois Lerner e-mails

The IRS has told Congress that it has lost some of former employee Lois G. Lerner’s emails from 2009 through 2011, including those she sent to other federal agencies, the House’s top tax-law writer said Friday.

The agency blamed a computer crash for the mishap.

Rep. Dave Camp, chairman of the Ways and Means Committee, said he was stunned that it took more than a year into the investigation for the IRS to inform Congress that it didn’t have those emails.

“The fact that I am just learning about this, over a year into the investigation, is completely unacceptable and now calls into question the credibility of the IRS’s response to congressional inquiries,” Mr. Camp said. “There needs to be an immediate investigation and forensic audit by Department of Justice as well as the Inspector General.”

Read more: washingtontimes.com/news/2014/jun/13/irs-says-it-lost-key-lerner-emails/#ixzz34Z1dcK8E
Follow us: @washtimes on Twitter

Yeah, sure. They “lost” two years worth of emails. :rolleyes:

Right, and even though it happened 3 years ago, they just remembered. :rolleyes:

The dog ate my homework would have been more believable, but I think they already used that one for a different scandal.

I would offer them a better excuse they have not used yet, “You should know that this administration is just incompetent for almost everything based on our first five years.”

Only the incriminating ones.

http://teamtcast.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/ricky-gervais-hysterical-laughter.gif

This!!

Well it’s no big. :slight_smile: Why, i’m sure if I were being audited by the IRS and I “lost” the documentation they needed they would surely accept what I said on my honor and just let it go; right? We should be just as forgiving with them as they have shown themselves to be time and again.:yup:

Priceless!

Professor Glenn Reynolds @ Instapundit.com writes “So this means the contents were devastating to the White House, I guess”.