Is an SSPX Confirmation valid?

(I posed this question to an apologist but I don’t know whether it will be answered, so I am posting the same thing here for now.)

I have a friend who will soon be receiving the sacrament of Confirmation – but she attends only SSPX chapels and her Confirmation is being done by an SSPX bishop. My questions are:

1. does the Roman Catholic Church consider such Confirmations (and their other sacraments) valid? and,

2. may I without committing mortal sin attend SSPX Masses when visiting my friend? (or even just because I love the traditional Latin Mass?)

My ballpark guess: Valid, but not licit.

1. does the Roman Catholic Church consider such Confirmations (and their other sacraments) valid? and,

Since it is being performed by a bishop (albeit an excommunicated one), the Confirmation is probably valid. If it were being done by a S.S.P.X priest, then it would be invalid. I am not a canon lawyer, so take this with a grain of salt.

As for other sacraments, it depends upon which sacrament. Their confessions (except in danger of death) and marriages are certainly invalid.

1. may I without committing mortal sin attend SSPX Masses when visiting my friend? (or even just because I love the traditional Latin Mass?)

This is a sticky question. I believe there is a letter from the Pontifical Commission Ecclesia Dei that recommends against attending Mass in their chapels, but notes that it is not forbidden and would fulfill the Sunday obligation.

[quote=Cherub](I posed this question to an apologist but I don’t know whether it will be answered, so I am posting the same thing here for now.)

I have a friend who will soon be receiving the sacrament of Confirmation – but she attends only SSPX chapels and her Confirmation is being done by an SSPX bishop. My questions are:

2. may I without committing mortal sin attend SSPX Masses when visiting my friend? (or even just because I love the traditional Latin Mass?)
    [/quote]