Is "assisted' Rosary a valid way to pray?

If I recite the rosary following the one I hear on the radio (local EWTN station) or a smartphone app, or a YouTube video, but don’t always say the words or mouth them or at least say them in my heart, is it still a valid way to pray the Rosary?

I am still learning to pray the Rosary and think that doing it while driving to work is still a better way to spend this time than listening to Howard Stern (or any similar crud).

Thanks in advance.

Why wouldn’t it be?

There is no such thing as valid or invalid ways of performing personal devotions. Even if you said the Rosary while performing Judo chops on Amazonian piranhas it wouldn’t be ‘invalid’ or ‘valid’. We would probably all agree that would be a silly way to do it, but there is no thing as rubrics or protocol on such things. That’s something that only ever applies to the administering of sacraments (which is why there is such a thing as an invalid ordination, marriage, baptism, Mass, etc.). The explanation of valid or invalid exists in those cases as a way of clearly demarcating between the Church and anything outside of it.

With prayer, study, public study, public religious meetings / talks / discussions, retreats, etc., you just follow your own prudential judgement on what to do. The Mass follows rubrics because it isn’t a private or public devotional, but a supernatural event, and it does things in unity and under a higher authority in the same way that the Jews observed the Passover in a very particular way.

That’s fine. In fact, it’s a very good thing to do.

Only DO NOT use the beads while you’re driving. I’m not kidding here. I’ve known many people over the years who do exactly that. Some people will think I’m joking. I am not.

Even if you said the Rosary while performing Judo chops on Amazonian piranhas it wouldn’t be ‘invalid’ or ‘valid’.

:smiley: LoL :smiley:

Praying is always a good thing :thumbsup: