Is Being Gay In Itself A Sin? & I Want to Go To Confession

Hi all, i’m new to the catholic forums, i felt that this was the website to get my concerns out, i’m a gay catholic, & came to this conclusion at 5-6 years old, initially it was just a curiosity; then at about 10-13, it became more serious, I started having sexual dreams/nocturnal emissions etc. For awhile & up till recently, i haven’t had any lustful thoughts about the same sex, except for maybe some months back, when i joined an app called “Grindr” where i was chatting with someone & i did have some fantasies about the person, but since then nothing serious, except for a few involuntary urges from time to time; i do get physically attracted to men, but it’s not too common for me, it depends on who i come across… or even see on T.V, if anything usually i just find a person really cute, that’s all… but there are times when i get very, very attracted to somebody. Anyways i want to know… do you think that being gay in itself is a sin against GOD? or just the act? i plan on going to confession, but i’m nervous abut telling all this to a priest, i know priests aren’t supposed to judge, but it still doesn’t make me feel any better, i’ve done some embarrassing things in my youth due to same sex thoughts & urges. I saw a family friend half naked once as a kid, & was very lustful, we even shared a bed… i’m scared to tell a priest all of this due to judgement or weirdness. Also i want to go to confession, because i don’t feel as close to God as i should be… & i feel clearing up all of this stuff might help in the process.

1. Being gay is not a sin.

2. Priests have heard everything, and nothing you tell them will shock them. They will, rather, be impressed at the courage you show in confessing it.

3. You need to be able to separate passive attraction from active desire. Attraction is not a sin; active desire is a sin.