Is Confession Needed?

Just looking for opinions, for the record I do believe and was taught confession to a priest of mortal sins was needed to accept the Eucharist, not go to Hell even, etc, aka pretty important…so, I’m in Lectio Divinia every week with this one gentleman and a few months ago, I forgot the topic, but I made mention of something to do with this and he cuts me off saying Gd is merciful and every good person will get “into heaven.” As a Jew, (sorry, I don’t say former bc I still am one, but I get Jewish readers might not like that so I apologize in advance…) I believe that, but I have thought Catholics and the Catechism said differently (and I don’t debate that).
Long story short now every LD he brings it up, this week he mentioned a podcast where a priest said the prayer we say at mass at the beginning (sorry, I’m new at this I don’t remember name of prayer) is enough and same as confession.
Anyone else heard of this? I’m all for the idea of “by faith alone,” but isn’t that a Protestant maxim? Why even have confession? And I also have to wonder why this guy is coming for me with this every.single.week. Of all the “hills to die on” why would it be the anti-confession one? lol
Help me out friends, maybe I’m the confused one.

Mortal sins MUST be confessed to a Priest.

Surely every good person will get into heaven, but part of being a good person is to ask God’s forgiveness of sins in the sacrament of Reconciliation. To knowingly refuse that sacrament and take a “by faith alone” attitude is very prideful.

right, that’s what I thought, was taught, etc…but this particular gentleman, as I stated, has basically asserted its a formality and kind of implies that I think differently is because I still have a “legalistic” mindset (they all know I’m a Jewish convert). But thanks, I’m not crazy.

If this group is trying to teach something different than what the Church teaches, it may be time to leave them behind.