Is divorce and “remarriage” outside of the Catholic Church held to the same degree as in the Church, before God?

Hi,

Is divorce and “remarriage” outside of the Catholic Church held to the same degree as in the Church, before God? I mean since annulments aren’t recognized, does God still call it a mortal sin, even if the divorced Christian couple believes that adultery is an exception, or even other issues?

Also, had they believed in annulments as a Catholic, they might have gotten one? So, we cannot know for sure if it is a mortal or venial or any kind of sin right?

God Bless You,
Brian

Matrimony is indissoluble, unless a grave defect was present when the spouses took their vows (ex. one of the spouses was not open to procreation, et cetera). I am no expert, but in this case there was no Matrimony. This is what we call "annulment". It is in no way a divorce.

A Catholic, of course, cannot marry outside of the Church unless he has a proper dispensation, etc. If he does, he is in a state of mortal sin, in my understanding.

The good news is that often a marriage can be validated in the Church with a simple ceremony. Often.

I'm not sure I fully understand your question.

The Church recognizes marriages among non-Catholics and holds them to the same standard as Catholic marriages -- "til death do us part." The Church does not recognize civil divorce and remarriage.

If non-Catholics wish to become Catholic, previous marriages would have to be examined for validity.

Thanks for the posts.

We'll, I am asking if two non-Catholic Christian people divorce and remarry, because of adultery of one of the spouses (they believe this is permissible), are they living in sin since they don't believe in annulments? Is it a valid remarriage or not?