Is Fibromyalgia Real?

I am not sure if I believe it is or if it is indeed real, it is being described accurately by patients or health practitioners.

This thread will surely evolve, I am sure, and I will take more time to flesh out my thoughts on the issue.

I am a licensed Social Worker so I do know a bit about the bio-psychosocial realms would surely impact the dynamics of this controversial condition.

Interesting question. I’ve often wondered that myself, but the more I read, the more it seems likely that it is real, at least in many ways - and surely in the minds of those who have been told they have it.
One thing I’ve noticed that I wonder if it may be coincidental: all of the people I know who have been diagnosed with it are overweight - and most of them quite a bit so. Maybe that’s because when you’re in pain you don’t get as much exercise to burn off the calories, or maybe it’s just that the people I know with it all happen to be overweight.
I do know that I’ve found when I’m in pain for an extended period of time as I’ve been lately from something totally different, I’ve been gaining weight myself - about a pound every two weeks. I think it may be less exercise for fear of making my injury worse combined with the fact that I’m worried the pain may never go away or that I’ll need surgery. And when I worry, I eat to help me forget. Either way, this may or may not be the same difficulty for many people diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. Has anyone else noticed many folks with the condition to be overweight?

My sister has been diagnosed with it, and she’s very slender, eats more healthy than just about anyone I know, and is very physically active.

I don’t know if the condition is misdiagnosed, but knowing my sister’s personality, she wouldn’t complain about anything unless it were very significant. She’s a very busy mom… to paraphrase Jesse Ventura, “she ain’t got time to bleed.”