Is going to a chiropractor sinful?

I had always thought that the Church had looked down on this, but now my mom wants me to come with her to have a chiropractic session. It really helped her with headaches, and from where the most nerve pressure is in my neck, it could be contributing to scrupulousity, which this could help.

Anyway, is it sinful, and if not, why?

On what do you base your idea that the Church has some sort of teaching about chiropractors?

The Church has no teaching against medical treatments if they are moral in nature.

I don’t really know. I guess kind of a mix of all that occult/new age stuff that confuses the noodles (for loss of a better word) out of me. I’ve heard accupuncture is of the “occult” before, so I kind of assumed chiropractics were too.

Maybe it’s just my scrupulousity at work.

I hope not! After 28 years of being a firefighter I need to get adjusted every other week.:slight_smile: I really don’t think you have to worry about going. If I had any doubts I wouldn’t go.

Not sure what the Church teaches about it, but it is not a smart decision. :mad:

They cannot fix your issues…only prolong them. When going to school for their certification (it’s a Dr. degree…but at their own “special schools”…not real universities), they actually take courses in making a patient’s issues last a lifetime. Two words: job security.

They present themselves as a Doctor for medical purposes, but they are no more of a medical doctor than Dr. Dan…my preacher. But they have one of the best lobbies in the business, so they get away with it. They make false claims on what their treatments can do.

I’m probably missing some…
Just speak with any Physical Therapist. They often get chiropractor mess-ups.

To each his own. :shrug:

My Mom was spared painful back surgery and recovery by going to a chiropractor about 10 years ago. She still goes, feels great and leaves us all in the dust whenever we walk together!