Is it a mortal sin to not pray your morning prayers

I didn’t pray my morning prayers this morning out of laziness. I have been making short aspirations thru the day however. I did not confess that I failed to pray in the morning. Was this a mortal sin?

The Church does not require that we pray each morning. Where did you get that idea?

Some booklets include that in the list of sins. I’ve seen some here in Mexico that seem to, omitting morning or evening prayers and not reading the Bible.

No, it is not a mortal sin or any sin. We are not obilgated to pray morning, evening or night prayers.

That’s what I thought.

I struggle with this, too, and I admire your frankness. I don’t think it was a mortal sin but possibly a sin of ommission. Definitely check with your confessor on this as I am not an expert. I do commend you for praying aspirations-you obviously love our Lord very much and are struggling to maintain an active prayer life.

May our Crucified and Risen Savior bless you abundantly this Easter Season. :slight_smile:

No, it is not.

Actually it is an imperfection or venial sin. And if it’s
venial and leads to habitual that can translate to mortal
sin over time called sloth. So you should try to discipline
yourself to make the effort.
Here is an excellent detailed summary of mortal
and venial written for kids:
catholicparents.org/oxcart/Examination%20of%20Conscience.pdf

Pax Christi!

Unless you’re underage and deliberately disobeying your parents, or in a religious order and breaking your vow of obedience.

Otherwise, you’re okay.

But you should pray regularly. Think of it like eating right or getting exercise.

God bless, and lay off the snooze button!:slight_smile:

To miss Morning and Night Prayer is not mortally sinful since lay people are under no Church Law obligation to pray morning and night prayer. Sloth or laziness can have various degrees of seriousness dependant on circumstances.