Is it a mortal sin to work on Sundays?

I’m a college student trying to get a job for the summer and right now I’m applying to an amusement park. I know a lot of people who work or who have worked there and everyone says that it’s the kind of place where they tell you when you’re working and you don’t have too much control over your schedule and days off. I’m sure they’ll ask me to work Sundays a lot and I just don’t know what to do. I certainly don’t want to commit a mortal sin but I don’t want to risk my job or get on the wrong side of my managers. I’m also having trouble justifying working on Sundays since I basically just work for my personal spending and college expenses, I’m not working to feed a family or anything. Am I obligated to tell them I don’t want to work Sundays? I just don’t know what to do.

No it is not mortal sin. your job is just a temporary position and you are not in any position to start telling your employer that you can’t work on Sundays when this is when they are open. The mortal sin is not attending Mass but with the Catholic Church, there are many Mass times starting with Saturday evening to even Sunday evening in some Churches. I am not sure where you are getting your ideas from, but the Catholic Church does not consider working on Sundays to be mortal sin.

Perfect answer! :thumbsup:

I think we should try and avoid work if possible on Sundays, the idea being it promotes family time and protects those in lower paid jobs being taken advantage of by their employers, but as long as you get to Mass, all good I’d say.

Just in case you are still worried after the above replies, here is a quote from the Catechism: