Is it a sin to disagree with the Pope?

I assume the answer is “it depends” but I’ve seen posters vehemently disagree with Pope Francis that “Islam is a religion of peace”, many disagree with the many popes who did not find corporal punishment or the Iraq War to be just, and some disagree with Pope John Paul II regarding marital sex (AFAIK he did find it reasonable for a husband to bring a wife to orgasm with “loving touches” if she could not achieve orgasm through intercourse, but some posters here would disagree).

And while most have phrased these disagreements respectfully, others have really been strident with their disagreements, and I wonder if some of this borders on sin, not for disagreeing, but for the amount of disrespect involved.

Hi ToeinTheWater, Those are good questions. I’m not an expert but here is what I think. Disagreeing with a Pope is only a sin if what you are disagreeing with is official Church Dogma or Doctrine. Those things we are all bound to believe and if we can’t seem to understand a doctrine we should at least try to learn what it really means and why. And, realizing that the Church is protected from error in official dogma, we give it assent of faith and pray to the Holy Spirit that we would be enlightened.

A Pope, like anyone else can be wrong in his personal opinions. However, you are right to disagree with those who are not respectful, if not of the person, at least of his office as head of the Church.

:thumbsup:

It really does depend. Pope Benedict made a famous statement at the beginning of his Jesus of Nazareth book saying people were free to disagree with what he said in the book. So we are free to disagree with any pope’s theological opinion. It’s only when a pope is teaching something as pope that we can’t disagree. In other words, he’s not just giving his thoughts on the matter, but is saying this is what the Church teaches and believes.