Is it a sin to take out a student loan you know you’ll get forgiven without full repayment?

I took out student loan debt (irresponsibly) in previous courses of studies, and then sometime after graduation decided to go to law school. I received no scholarship from my law school and ended up (more responsibly) taking out a lot—and I mean, A LOT—of student loan debt. In the middle of my studies for my J.D. I realized that the legal job market was a catastrophe and that I didn’t really even want to practice, anyway. But I finished my degree because I wanted to finish what I had started and I had planned on possibly doing further academic work into the future—and a J.D., frankly, looks really good on a C.V.

The position I’m in now is this. My wife works out of the home and I work from home while staying home with our baby daughter. We do okay financially and what we are doing now has some room for profit-growth. But there is NO WAY that we will be able to fully repay our student loans until they are forgiven. My wife, a teacher, will have her loans entirely forgiven after a period of time. I will have my loans—a more substantial amount—forgiven after a longer period of time, because I’m on income-based repayment. I actually plan on continuing to pay my loans literally until I die, at which point they’ll be forgiven. But we’re basically scraping away at the interest, which continues to grow on the principle. So unless we make our way in the very top of the tax bracket (highly unlikely), then my loans will never be completely repaid.