Is it always a sin to lie on a job application?

I graduated college last winter with a Business degree and I am completely struggling to find work. I don’t have enough experience to get a job that requires a college degree but am overqualified for entry level jobs such as working retail. So I figured it would be best to start out with the retail route and get some experience there to start out; no problem right? WRONG! I am sending applications every day to company’s and calling them up a few days later to try and arrange an interview. Most of the time they get annoyed or make up some vague excuse and tell me they are busy and will call back later…lol. Although I have gotten to the interviews and cant get past them. I had an interview a few days ago for a sales associates job and thought I was going to get it but nope I never got a call back. I was suppose to hear back today if I got it. Its seriously a complete joke. I know I am fully capable of doing these jobs and know I am capable at doing these jobs BETTER then the people who are getting them over me. I make it very clear in interviews that I can work hard and learn quickly. I feel being overqualified is hurting me and I need to say I don’t have a college degree or make up stuff about my experience. I am getting desperate and need money coming through so I can keep paying my rent and actually being able to live. Its seriously getting in my head and pretty depressing also.

2 observations:

1. Never, NEVER, lie on a job application.

2. Have you considered that with this attitude: “I know I am fully capable of doing these jobs and know I am capable at doing these jobs BETTER then the people who are getting them over me,” it’s evident why you’re struggling? Even if your statement is true, saying so is counterproductive.