Is it cohabitation?

I would love to ask a priest about this situation, but that is difficult right now given the circumstances.
So, I am a recent college graduate and am staying with my girlfriend and her family while we both look for a job. We both stay in the same room, but sleep in different beds (she sleeps in her bed and I sleep on a futon in a different side of the room). I feel that it is important to mention that we are not sexually actively either.
There is another bedroom in the house that belongs to her older brother who often comes home to visit.
We have talked about our plan of finding jobs and eventually getting separate apartments (until we get married of course). My question is whether my current situation is considered cohabitation? If so, would it be cohabitation if I stayed in a separate bedroom? I really would appreciate some help and insight into my situation (especially if there is a priest on here that could help me).
Thank you and God bless!

1 Like

Her parents like the idea of you sleeping in the same room as their daughter?

1 Like

I don’t know where you live but college degree or not, many grocery stores are hiring and you could rent a place and she could live at home.

1 Like

Her family is not Catholic and actually asked if I would want to stay here until I found an apartment. They seem to be ok with the idea of me and my girlfriend living in an apartment together (even though, as I stated above, I do no plan on doing as I know this would be cohabitation).

It is probably better if you were in a separate room. I do not think it would be a sin though, due to unemployment and the pandemic going on. If you can, email a priest, or call one on the phone and ask.

3 Likes

Didn’t you already ask this question in another thread? Or maybe there is another guy living with his girlfriend’s parents sharing a room with two beds who posted here recently?