Is it okay to want to be famous and want to be the best?

I’m studying very hard so I can graduate as a suma cum laude, but I’m a little unsure if my motivations abide by God’s will. I know the ideal reason to study hard is you’ll be able to support your family and help the needy in the future. That’s certainly one of my main motivations to do my best, but is it also all right to motivate myself by imagining how popular I’ll be when I graduate with honors, how the audience will applaud me and big companies will fight over me?

Also, I like challenging myself to be the best in my class. When I see a classmate score higher than me, I tell myself I’ll to do better. I mean no ill will to the classmate though, and I don’t always succeed in being the top scorer. Is that ok?

Another way I encourage myself is when people hurt me, I just keep my mouth closed and think to myself, “Don’t be sad, Jed. At graduation, you’ll show them they shouldn’t have done those things to you.”

Now, those latter three motivations aren’t my major ones, but they certainly give me more energy to study hard. Is it okay to think that way?

Dear Jed,

Congratulations on your achievements, and for using the wonderful gifts of intellect and drive which God has given you!

Of course studying hard is important, and competition can be a healthy motivator, to an extent.

Self-love is natural and necessary, but not to the exclusion of loving God and others.
I encourage you to prayerfully reflect on your goals you have set (as a student and for the future), and how you are prioritizing your goals, in the light of the faith.

Also, we are called to love as God wills us to love, now, as if today is our last day on earth. Our present actions aren’t just for the future.

Some things to consider:
[LIST]

*]For what purpose do you want success and fame?

*]Are you allowing personal achievement and fame to become your idol? In other words, are they more important to you than God is?