Is It Sinful For A Man To Exercise Without A Shirt On?

I have been exercising outdoors without a shirt on for a few years now, but it has only recently hit me that doing so might constitute immodesty on my part.

There are a few reasons why I’ve been doing this:

1.) Health: I want to absorb more vitamin D from the sun, especially as someone who doesn’t regularly consume dairy products. I’m not sure if having a shirt on would make much of a difference, but I just naturally assumed that more skin exposure = more absorption.

2.) Feeling: It simply feels better to exercise without having a big, sweaty shirt on.

Now on to the more controversial reasons:

3.) Aesthetic appeal: I’ve always found a natural tan to be attractive, but a farmers tan to be weird looking.

Is this vanity? At what point do we separate being aesthetically appealing from inciting others to lust?

4.) Business: In the past I posted shirtless pictures of myself in order to prove the effectiveness of an exercise product which I used to sell (kind of like those “before and after” pics you always see).

It was never my intention to be “eye candy,” and I never got any comments suggesting such a thing. But I still wonder if even that was sinful or enticing others to sin on my part.

Anyway, it’s the summer time and I see guys mowing their lawns outside without a shirt on all the time. I don’t think the thought of attracting women even crosses most of their minds, but I don’t doubt it happens anyway.

Should we men be more modest with our choice of attire even when it seems reasonable to dress down, or am I just be scrupulous?

But refuse - profane - and old wives’ - fables,
and exercise thyself rather unto godliness.
For bodily exercise profiteth little:
but godliness is profitable unto all things,

1st Timothy 4 - 7

It is NOT sinful to exercise outside with your shirt off.