Is it wrong that I listen to this music?

Hello,

I am a HUGE classic rock fan, and am constantly rocking away on air guitar (which I am actually an expert at) for most of my free time. However, I listen to some bands who I just don't know what to think.

I have two examples. The first is the well known band AC/DC, which is one of my favorites. They have plenty of songs that convey bad moral values, such as picking up girls and whatnot, but I know where I stand in my faith so I'm not too worried about that. Besides, isn't that like 90% of classic rock songs? Anyways, AC/DC has a famous song, "Highway to Hell", that I always rock out to. But is that song, and the band, bad for me as a Catholic to listen to?

The second example is my best friend's favorite band, Iron Maiden. I like two of their songs, but I find the lyrics from their song "The Number of the Beast" troubling:

"666, the number of the beast! Hell, and fire, are small to say the least!" :eek:

My friend told me that they arent satanic, but i'm not too sure. I personally think that most bands talk about hell and the devil only to look tough and give rockers what they want to see: a person who lives life like there's no tomorrow and is a troublemaker. I don't think that Bon Scott (lead singer of AC/DC) would worship the devil and desecrate the Holy Eucharist or anything horrible like that.

Can someone please give me their thoughts on what I should do?

Hm, I’ve asked myself those same questions (about different bands, though, not a metal fan whatever).

I’ll be interested to hear people’s answers.

[quote="chrsbrosky, post:1, topic:243024"]
Hello,

I am a HUGE classic rock fan, and am constantly rocking away on air guitar (which I am actually an expert at) for most of my free time. However, I listen to some bands who I just don't know what to think.