Is Kabbalah (Jewish Mysticism) a form of Magic?

To My Elder Brothers (the Jews);

Hello I have a discussion with my friend and my brothers who say that Kabbalah is a form of magic, in which I disagree. I could be wrong since I am no expert on the subject discussed. I say it isn’t because it would contradict the Mosaic Law that forbids magic.

If it is not magic, what is it?

Thanks

Mysticism is distinct from magic. Many alchemists used or referenced the Kabbalah in their experiments, such as the creation of homunculi or searching for the philosopher’s stone; however, that bears the same relation to the actual practice as numerology does to the bible – in fact, it’s essentially identical.

While I am neither a Jew nor a Kabbalah expert, I have read some books on the subject.

Kabbalah is a fairly complicated entity practiced in different forms, both by Jews and non-Jews. Some practices of Kabbalah are mixed by those who get involved in Pagan/Occultist movements (i.e. Theosophy) along with beliefs from Astrology, Eastern Religion, and borrowings from the mystical traditions of various religions. Other forms of Kabbalah are basically mystical devotions and practices designed to bring a Jew into mystical communion with God.

Generally sensible Jews who get involved in the mystical side of their religion insist to be in Kabbalah one must be a long-practicing Jew in good standing, and no-one below the age of 40 should get involved in the deeper mysteries of Kabbalah.

I doubt Jews would get involved in magical practices because of the Pentateuchal commandment against it, though some forms of Kabbalah can go ritually along these lines into theurgical practice.

You also have to be male, unless they changed that very recently.