Is liking the same gender a sin according to Roman Catholic Church?

Hi, I know the title might have surprised some Catholics:bigyikes: haha
I’m a Catholic high school student who have taken several theology classes.
One of my religion teachers was teaching us about homosexuals last year,
and he said Catholic Church does not consider liking the same gender as a sin.
If the homosexuals act upon it, then it IS a sin.
I found his comment somewhat controversial and interesting. :hmmm:
I want to know the real answer to this question.
Oh, and one more thing.
Our school was created by sisters and we have teachers who are nuns.
One day, students were talking about ghosts in school,
and one of the sisters told us in class that ghost/spiritual being exists.
I thought it was weird because it goes against the fundamental Catholic teaching of
Heaven & Hell. No soul remains in our world once we die… so ghost=doesn’t exist
I’m just really confused.:banghead:
I’m not trying to pick on homosexuals or people who believe in the existence of ghosts but
I really want to know the truth as a Catholic. What is the fundamental teachings?
Please help me figuring it out!
[SIGN]Thank you and have a nice day in the presence of God! [/SIGN]

They were correct. There is nothing sinful about being attracted to members of the same gender. It is only a sin if you act on it.

As for ghosts, reading through the catechism, the Church says that it has no official position on ghosts. So one may believe in their existence if they desire, but they are not required to.

[quote="OxygenMan, post:2, topic:316400"]
They were correct. There is nothing sinful about being attracted to members of the same gender. It is only a sin if you act on it.

As for ghosts, reading through the catechism, the Church says that it has no official position on ghosts. So one may believe in their existence if they desire, but they are not required to.

[/quote]

Okay, I see. Thank you very much:)