Is my marriage valid? Please advise

This is my first time posting, I hope I have the right topic.

I am currently in RCIA, as I was baptized Catholic as a baby, but never completed the sacraments. I hope to complete Easter 2020. My concern is that I was married in a Methodist Church to man who was never baptized and was once divorced. Does the fact that he wasn’t baptized and/or that his first marriage was never annulled invalidate our marriage?

As you are currently in RCIA, you should speak to your priest as soon as possible to see what he thinks you should do.

4 Likes

As a Catholic (which you are by virtue of your baptism) you were and are bound by Church law on marriage as well as divine law. As a Catholic, you were bound to marry in Catholic form or receive a dispensation from form. If you didn’t do so, then the attempt at marriage would not be considered valid.

Since your intended has a prior bond he was not free to marry anyone else and that would need to be reviewed and dealt with. Lastly since he is unbaptized, that also would have and does require a dispensation from disparity of cult from your bishop.

So right now there are three things impeding valid marriage: the form, the disparity of cult, and his prior bond. The first two are easily corrected, but first his prior bond must be dealt with.

Next step is for both of you to sit down with your pastor and get the ball rolling.

6 Likes