Is my really cool new job a sin?

Hi y'all! I'm new here so if this question ends up being posted 3 different times please forgive my lack of familiarity with CAF! But anywho, I'm a new college student doing a science major in hopes of becoming a physician. I was baptized, did my first communion, and got confirmed but since then haven't really been involved in going to mass since school has practically taken over my life.

I recently applied and got accepted for this paid internship at one of the best med schools in my state so I'm absolutely ecstatic about it! :D When I shared my joy with some devoutly Catholic friends they pointed out that by taking this job I may be committing sin. You see, this internship allows me to be part of a research team for the pilot studies of male contraceptives. I wouldn't be creating anything, it's simply just gathering information and such. Any thoughts or anything in church doctrines that says I'm (not) committing sin?

Contraception is gravely wrong. Your involvement in this is at odds with your faith. I would decline this internship, even if it means making a financial sacrifice. It's time for you to take a serious look at your life and decide where your priorities lie. The longer you are away from the sacraments (Confession and Eucharist), the more clouded your judgement will become. You will start to rationalize sin until you can no longer see sin in its proper light. Trust me, I was away from confession for 7 years. It happened to me. Finally making a good confession cleared away all the fog so that I could let the light in.

I would discuss it with your priest and/or spiritual director. :wink:

[quote="CatholicRaven, post:3, topic:329441"]
I would discuss it with your priest and/or spiritual director. ;)

[/quote]

This ^

I have to agree with Veronica. You are helping to develop something that is definitely against Church doctrine, contraception is considered "morally unacceptable".