Is Orthodoxy better suited for a secular world?

Now I don’t know much about the Orthodox faith and I am still learning it. But it seems to me a lot of understanding of the faith and how everything is built up is based on a political environment and culture that is more secular than the West. Take for example marriage, which is one of the few things I have learned so far. It seems that the Eastern understanding of marriage is separate from the secular understanding so much so that it can co-exist side-by-side with a secular view on marriage without affecting how Christian marriage is viewed. But in the West it seems the view on marriage is that it’s either a Christian marriage or its not a marriage at all. I think this is a product of a Church that has had a higher authority than the secular powers for a long period of time, as opposed to the East where the secular powers have never bowed down to the Church completely.

Is this an accurate understanding? And what do you guys think of my conclusion, which is the subject of the thread?

I’m not sure I agree (or understand, for that matter). Maybe you mean the Byzantine/Eastern Orthodox only? But it seems like in their case there were plenty of pious kings, who followed the dictums of the Church in addition to a set of secular laws as well, but of course not necessarily because they did not recognize church authority (since the kings themselves were Christians, too). So I think you might be right so far as the Byzantines go (based on what little education I’ve had on Byzantine Orthodox views of government, via AFR podcasts by the likes of Fr. Josiah Trenham, Fr. Andrew Damick, etc.), but maybe not for the reasons you listed.