Is persecution a problem for amillenialism? (Plus a summary history of anti-Catholic persecutions.)

Ever since I started studying Catholic apologetics, I’ve been interested in Catholic versus Protestant interpretations of the Book of Revelation. Based on St. Augustine, it is my understanding that the 1000 year period mentioned in Revelation 20:2-3 is a time of freedom for the Gospel to be proclaimed throughout the world. The time of freedom is now. I understand this interpretation is called amillenialism because it interprets the 1000 years as a figurative reference to an indefinite period of time that we are living in today.

But I have a difficulty with this interpretation that I would like some input on, and my difficulty is this: the time we are living in now, along with the past 2000 years, do not seem to match up with how Revelation 20:2-3 describes the millenial period.

Rev. 20:2-3 says, “[Jesus] he seized the dragon, that ancient serpent, who is the Devil and Satan, and bound him for a thousand years, and threw him into the pit, and shut it and sealed it over him, that he should deceive the nations no more, till the thousand years were ended. After that he must be loosed for a little while.”

It seems to me that Satan has had no problem deceiving the nations for any space of 1000 years from Jesus’ time up to today. I can’t seem to find even a 200 year period, let alone a 1000+ year period, of peace for the Church. In every age the great nations in which Christianity has gained a foothold have persecuted the Church due to the false beliefs held by their leaders and a desire to make the Church conform to them.

In the first century Ciaphus and the Herod kings persecuted both Jesus and His disciples. Then Nero and Domition did so as rulers of the Roman Empire. Over the next two hundred years the Church witnessed 8 more empire-wide persecutions, right up to the conversion of Constantine.