Is redeemed humanity better than unfallen humanity would have been?

Every so often, I hear Christians (Catholics included) claim that God willed or at least passively allowed original sin because it allowed for Jesus to come and redeem us, and that redeemed humanity is actually far better than unfallen humanity would have been. This idea was brought to the forefront of my mind recently when I discovered That C.S. Lewis seems to tout this idea in his book Miricles. I have a great respect for Lewis, but I don’t know how this view can be accepted. I thought that God can not will that we sin, even to bring out a greater good. Furthermore, I have a difficult time accepting that the greatest possible good came about because of human sin. Thoughts?

I’m no expert, but defining “the greatest possible good” seems to be the problem. We only have the perspective of the fallen world and a limited perspective of those two that were originally without sin. What we know is that they existed in perfect union with one another and God. This was a very good state to be in, after all - God himself said it wasn’t good for man to be alone, so he created Eve. We don’t know how long they were in this state before the event with the serpent, but it could have been a long time. At this time, there is no need for a redeemer. These two were an image for us to emulate in our sacramental marriages.