Is sleeping all day a mortal sin?

Hey everyone. Is sleeping all day a mortal sin?

Hi,
Why would it be?
Context, please?

I slept all day because I was lazy and maybe a little bit depressed. I thought it might be the mortal sin of slothfulness.

I don’t believe it’s a mortal sin, but I have no knowledge either way.

It’s certainly not good to do, without having good reasons (and if it involved you skipping Mass then it was, indeed, a grave matter for the reason of you missing Mass). However, sometimes we have lazy days.

Is it something that occurs frequently, or was it necessary to emotionally or physically recharge? Were you indulging in harmful thoughts that won’t benefit you and only make you more sad?

Again, without really knowing, I’d say it’s pretty unlikely that falls under grave matter, but it’s nevertheless something to avoid because it can certainly lead you into more serious sin in the future. If it was just a lazy day, let it go. If it’s going to become a habit, seek real help.

The seven deadly sins are not mortal sins, anyways; they are “gateway” sins, which is why they are so deadly.

I sure hope that sleeping all day is not sinful. Before a stroke that made me unable to work I worked mostly at nights the midnight shift. You have to sleep sometime and I got used to sleeping in the day time. Now I go to sleep about 3am and sleep until 1 or so.

The only time I get up early is Sundays, other than Saturday Evening they don’t have Mass for people who work nights.

Depression is an illness, not a sin. Go see a doctor about it.

Depression and Despair

thedefender.org/THE%20DEADLY%20SINS%20OF%20PRESUMPTION%20AND%20DESPAIR.html