Is the Church more controlling in other countries?

I was talking to this fundamentalist gentleman and he was telling me how the catholic church demanded devotion (worship on the level of God and maybe on how you interprete what he is saying above that of God) and I told him that I had been visting the local Catholic church for a few months now and that Father Paul talks more about Christ and when any mention is made to mary it sound more like Mary leads us and points to Jesus more than herself (and that the same was true with the saints). He said that because the U.S. is a rather liberal in faith that the public would not allow the Church to inforce this teaching regarding mary. But in Countries that the church has “a controll over like mexico and south america” she does inforce it. That Catholism in the U.S. is nothing like the Catholic Church in the rest of the world.I have never taken the time to go to mexico or any country that was dominatly Catholic, I am wondering if anyone who would know anything on this could help me out here? Any help you could give to this “Cradle Catholic” would be very much apreciated. Thank you and God bless.

Hi Montie! :slight_smile:

The guy’s all messed up and it’s nothing more than a rant he’s picked up from some a/C site or preacher. I know because I’ve heard and answered that before. For such to be the case it would have to be stated church doctrine which it clearly is not.

As with most allegations of this type, the best answer is to simply ask him to provide some documented proof. He won’t, because he can’t, because such simply does not exist because it is patently untrue.

Pax tecum,

[quote=Montie Claunch]… He said that because the U.S. is a rather liberal in faith that the public would not allow the Church to enforce this teaching regarding Mary. But in Countries that the Church has “a controll over like mexico and south america” she does enforce it.
[/quote]