Is the General Reconciliation Mass all we need?

Hi

I converted to Catholicism 9 years ago. I’m still learning! :wink:

My friend who was raised Catholic told me that we do not need to go to individual confession anymore. She said at her Parish (which I use to go to and left because it’s too liberal) they hold a general reconciliation Mass and that is all we need to do to be absolved. Is this true? It doesn’t sound right to me. I’d like to know what to tell her.

She told me that her two teenage daughters only went to confession before First Holy Communion and they’ve never been again. She also said she doesn’t break any of the 10 Commandments, therefore she doesn’t need to go anyway!! :rolleyes:

What that parish is doing goes against the teaching of the Church.

Yes, we still need to go to individual confession. The only time absolution is appropriate is when there is a large number of people and serious time constraints, and there is a strong possibility if imminent death, such as soldiers about to go to battle.

[quote=axolotl]What that parish is doing goes against the teaching of the Church…
[/quote]

I thought so. Thanks for the information.

well, there is no “general reconciliation” at Mass, although there is a Penitential Rite, in which we publicly express contrition for all our sins, and the Eucharist removes all venial sins. One may not approach holy communion worthily if conscious of mortal sin, and the only way for mortal sin to be absolved is in the sacrament of confession, or through the sacrament of anointing (which must be preceded by confession if the person is able). The newly baptized are of course free from all sin, original and actual. There is a provision, the third option in the new Rite for Penance and Reconcilation, for general absolution, but its use is rare and only in case of grave necessity–wartime, natural disaster etc.

Thank you.

Doesn’t the Church require everyone to go to confession at least twice a year, at Christmas and Easter?