Is the rosary always prayed the same way?

I’m very new at everything, so please bear with a beginner…:slight_smile:

I have been given an instructional booklet in my RCIA class on how to pray the rosary.

I was wondering: are there different prayers to add and use on special occasions…for example during Advent or Lent? Or is the rosary a devotion whose “pieces” cannot be changed?

I’m very interested, because the rosary was very important to my grandmother and I want to learn to pray it to the best of my ability.

Thanks, all! :slight_smile:

First, welcome! :smiley:

The Rosary is a private devotion, so while there is a standard way of praying it, certain parts can be changed (the ending prayer, etc.). Here are some great sites to help you get started:

ewtn.com/Devotionals/prayers/index.htm

ewtn.com/Devotionals/prayers/rosary/

catholic.com/library/Rosary.asp

I think it’s wonderful that you’re interested in the Rosary, but just remember, don’t pray it just because your grandmother loved it. :wink: I’m sure that it will help you grow closer to Jesus and Mary and help you on your journey. :slight_smile: God bless you!

PS - if you’re interested in having the Rosary on CD, you can get it free from www.CatholiCity.com. (The CD also has the chaplet of Divine Mercy (my favorite! see my signature for a link to information if you want it) and several other prayers. :thumbsup: I use it so I’m “hands-free” while praying in the car. :wink:

Thanks, Belle–the links are very helpful and I do appreciate it!
-Stella :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

You got it! :hug1:

Dear Stella,

Pope Paul VI said that the faithful should feel free about the Rosary ((i.e., not feel obligated to pray it only a certain way). So by all means, once you have learned the basics, feel free to change it in your own private prayers!