Is there a Catholic problem with basic evolution theory?

Is there a Catholic problem with basic evolution theory?

I am not a scientist. How would I know?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Each human person is worthy of profound respect.

Pope Pius XII’s Humani Generis is pretty clear. Monogenistic forms of evolution are not in contradiction with the Catholic faith, but polygenistic models are. Though you’d have to explain more by what you conside basic evolutionary theory.

Broad topic.

Could you define basic evolution theory

From what I have read on CAF, Humani Generis is not a popular piece of information.

Because basic evolution depends on populations evolving from previous populations, I do not understand how monogenism existed.:o

Wesrock was posting some useful information on that from Kemp in another thread. It essentially boils down to only some in the large population being true humans.

Definition:
True Human: Having a rational soul
Proto-Human: Lacking a ration soul, but being able to procreate with true humans due to genetic similarities

To illustrate that point I’ve attached an image. For the puposes of the image, names surrounded by a green rectangle/oval are true humans with a rational soul. Names surrounded by a red rectangle/oval are proto-humans lacking the rational soul, but genetically compatible with true humans and able to have children.

In the first line we have proto-humans John marrying Margaret and beget proto-human Charlie. True humans Adam and Eve marry begetting true humans Cain, Abel, Child #3, and Child #4. Proto-humans Harold and Elizabeth marry and beget proto-human Morgan.

In the second line we have proto-human Charlie marrying true human Child #3 and begetting true human Travis. We also have true human Child #4 marrying proto-human Morgan and begetting true human Amelia.