Is there a prayer for renewing Brown Scapular commitment?

Question related to today’s Feast of All Carmelite Saints (pray for us!):

I have been wearing the Brown Scapular devoutly for a few years and trying to practice the Carmelite spirituality as required. I was formally invested twice - once at the Blue Army Shrine in NJ and again at the Carmelite Monastery in Philadelphia, just in case. I understand that in USA we do not have individual chapters or meetings of the Scapular Confraternity but that a Carmelite priest or the Blue Army Shrine priests (who were granted the faculties to enroll by the Carmelites) can enroll people in the Confraternity by doing the formal enrollment in the Brown Scapular. I went through the rite of the formal enrollment and also submitted my name on a card to the Blue Army priest who collected the cards from the group he enrolled, and said the names would be recorded. So as far as I know I am definitely enrolled.

I further understand that as a member of the Scapular Confraternity I can get plenary indulgences on certain Carmelite feast days by renewing my commitment to the Scapular Confraternity. This is helpful to me in my regular practice of getting plenaries to give to Holy Souls.

Here is my question: Is there a particular prayer one says to renew one’s commitment?
I cannot find any particular prayer on the Web, and the Rite of Blessing and Enrollment of the Brown Scapular does not seem to contain anything that would work; it’s mostly said by the priest doing the enrollment. I have typically just been making up a renewal of commitment in my own words, something like, “Dear Jesus and Mary, I hereby renew my commitment to the Brown Scapular Confraternity, as required today” etc, but is there some actual prayer I could or should be saying?

Tagging @carmelitequotes and @Dorothy , our resident Carmelite experts, in case they can suggest something here.

Thank you in advance.

1 Like