Is there a way to prove that other minds exist?

Is there a way to prove that others have their own minds and intellects and are not simply unconscious beings that ‘appear’ to be conscious?

Yes! Get married.

Simple, read CAF.

The fact that others do not ask the OP’s question tends to demonstrate that other minds do indeed exist.

Ask me…

Matt Fradd notes that he struggled with this very thought around 16YO when he was growing up. He said studying Rene Descartes, the French philosopher who also debated if he was dreaming and if he could tell what was real and who has a mind. I studied Descartes’ writings in a college philosophy class last year, it was very interesting. You could also shoot Fradd an email and I’m sure in one of his podcasts or videos he talks about it, saw one today he briefly mentioned it in passing

Yes.

Through sensory deprivation. Or sleep deprivation.

Both those things can affect the mind extremely badly, if mind was outside of body and independent that wouldn’t happen.

However, if you believe that mind cannot function without brain, ie a brain malfunctioning as a receiver of external mind then we can prove very little.

You might wonder though why God would create humans and be concerned with our salvation if mind was independent, external and an illusion.
To use this as an argument you would necessarily eventually need to prove the existence of God, which is not possible unless you believe in the veracity of St Aquinas’ first cause argument.

I should be more clear. I’m not talking about solipsism (my mind is all that exists).

I’m talking about a true external reality created by God, but out of all the 7 billion humans on earth, only one of them has a mind.

There are at least two minds. One is you. You are aware that you are in charge of certain changes. You are however aware that you are not in charge of all changes. Therefore there is at least one more mind.