Is there anything wrong with rather being dead?

My thread title is a bit misleading… No I would not rather be dead :slight_smile:

But I do have a question. I work in construction. It can be dangerous. There are dozens of ways that you can get yourself killed everyday if you are not careful. Not to mention, some people are careful but accident happen that are out of their control and they can be killed.

My mother is my beneficiary. She is also the most competent person that I talk to regularl in my family. Lets say something happens to me and I am in a coma. Lets say I could live, but I am going to be a vegetable for the rest of my life if I did live. I do not know what it is like for the person in that state but I know they will have to be dependent on someone else for the rest of their lives. I think in that situation I would rather my mother just tell them to pull the plug on me. I do not want to be a burden to them and I would rather go with Our Lord (if he will welcome me to him) Would it be wrong to tell my mother to just let them pull the plug on me if that was the case? Or am I obligated to tell her to let my live even if I will be almost brain dead? I read The Catechism a couple years ago and I think it said if the quality of life will be so bad, it would be more humane to let the person die. BUT DO NOT QUOTE ME ON THAT! I could be wrong. It might have said something to that effect but not exactly??? Can anyone help me out?

My thread title is a bit misleading… No I would not rather be dead :slight_smile:

But I do have a question. I work in construction. It can be dangerous. There are dozens of ways that you can get yourself killed everyday if you are not careful. Not to mention, some people are careful but accidents happen that are out of their control and they can be killed.