Is there fun (physical love) after marriage?

My fiance is a Catholic and I am finishing RCIA and coming into the Church at Easter. We have been together since Sept 2006, and we are staying honest/pure/chaste - whatever it is called, I’m new to this line of thought - anyway, we’re doing that until the wedding which isn’t until Sept. this year. I chose to wait so I could come into the Church before we got married.

The problem is it still seems like forever until the wedding and I have got the idea that even after the wedding physical love is only “allowed” if you are trying to have a child and you aren’t susposed to enjoy it ever. So when now that I understand (or at least I think I understand) what God and the Church want from me and my fiance, I feel like I’m sinning even when I just feel desire for him when I look him. Does that make sense?

We truly love each other and do lots of things together, so we don’t need to keep us together or make things work, but it is so hard to turn it off or bury it. What is a woman to do? I am only human!

Where did you get this idea? This is not Church teaching.

I suggest you obtain some books on the subject including Theology of the Body for Beginners by Christopher West, The Good News About Sex and Marriage by Christopher West, and Three To Get Married by Archbishop Fulton Sheen.

You are not sinning if you are truly attracted to your spouse to be. I think it is wonderful that you and your fiance are devoted to remaining chaste (one is still chaste after marriage if you only have one sexual partner–your spouse!)

I have used NFP since we were married 9 years ago, and I can honestly say that our physical relationship has only gotten BETTER with time and three kids. In fact, the times our children were conceived–and we knew that was likely at the time–are among our, erm, “best” memories of physical intimacy.