Is there something wrong with this mans theology?

catholictv.com/Gospel-of-Matthew.aspx

I watched this program and just found myself thinking that there is something very wrong with this. I felt as though this studied man just tried to tell me that I should look at the Gospel of Matthew and see what it "really means". Whenever I hear this kind of talk I think that someone is trying to water down the Gospel, to turn in into some kind of nice story about a man named Jesus who we should try to be like. His discussion about what the earthquake was and what does the opening of graves "mean" was very troubling. Every time I here the word "meaning" in the context of a Gospel event, I get the feeling that it's code, some kind of relativistic euphemism for Gospel as allegory. I'm not good with what this man is saying and I'm not going to pretend otherwise. In 5 years of watching EWTN, I have never encountered anyone speaking of the Gospels like this.

Seeing a “meaning” in Scripture is not at all something that should make you uncomfortable. Seeing aspects of it as allegorical is also not a problem–what do you think Jesus was doing when he told parables? Was he telling stories of real people he had encountered? Possibly, but most likely not. Rather, he was using these stories–which were allegorical–to make some kind of point. St. Thomas Aquinas points out the different levels of understanding Scripture. Check this out:

marikablogs.blogspot.com/2009/05/aquinas-on-four-senses-of-scripture.html

-ACEGC

I think Matthew by far would be the most allegorical so to speak of the Gospels as Matthew mainly addresses the Jewish people rather than the Gentiles. Therefore in many cases the allegory is back to the OT. It is in knowing our Jewish roots that we can learn to respect our Jewish forefathers very much like Pope Benedict XVI has spoken about in his latest book. God bless.