Is this acceptable work-wear?

Hi! I’m a 21 year old student doing some holiday work in an office and I just want some opinions about whether this is ok:

shirt - smart, pale blue and white stripes

skirt - denim (smart, below the knee style)

pale brown leather heels

The skirt is definitely quite a smart style, but being denim, I’m not sure, would any of you guys wear this in an office?

What were women wearing during your interview? What kind of business is this? I think that denim may be too casual for most business offices, although the blouses sound nice. Do you have a khaki or neutral-colored skirt or slacks to begin? Many offices have casual Fridays where the denim would be acceptable.

It really depends on the office dress code, and the kind of business. My sister works for an accountant, and must dress up; another is a store manager, and the store has a dress code of solid blue or khaki tops. I make inspections on constructions sites, and wear jeans and a blouse.

What did you wear for your interview? Good luck with the job! It could be a great opportunity.

You need to ask the office manager or HR about dress code or what is generally acceptable.

In my company, M-Th is business casual and Friday is casual. Denim is only allowed on Fridays. It is not considered business casual. Neither are capri pants.

Business casual is considered to be non-denim skirts, slacks, collared polo shirts, blouses, dresses, etc. Friday casual can be jeans, denim skirts, slacks/khakis, collared polo or blouse (no t-shirts).

But, this is so company specific there is no way to generalize. Just ask. The worst feeling in the word is going to a new job improperly dressed.