Is this appropriate during Mass?

While I have been attending the Tridentine Mass since 2005, I had attended a cousin’s first communion a few months ago. The Mass was celebrated in the Ordinary Form/Novus Ordo and I had noticed these two things:

-The Gospel was read by a first communicant, rather by a deacon or the priest. The priest also acted out the scene, as Jesus, that was read in the gospel.

-Before the Our Father was recited, the priest invited all the children up to the sanctuary. They all stood around the altar table and held hands for the Our Father.

Are the things acceptable or are they considered to be liturgical abuse?

Both of those are liturgical abuse.

It must have been a beautiful day for your dear cousin and all the other children who received their First Holy Communion. I love knowing little children are making their First Communion.

I’m glad you were able to celebrate with her. I’m sure she was happy you were present.

It is the Ordinary Form.

Not permitted. The Gospel is read by a deacon. If there is no deacon by a priest.

Why would he do this? The rubrics make no such provision.

The rubrics make no such provision.

The rubrics make no such provision.

I think its okay - its a good way to get the children involved & interested in the mass - bringing them closer to Our Lord.

It is not OK. The rubrics of the Mass, which are ecclesiastical laws (cf. Canon 2) do not permit this. It is poor catechesis because it teaches the children that they can do things at Mass that are not permitted. By showing them how to do things at Mass that are not permitted it fails to teach the children obedience to the Church. It denies the children the authentic liturgy of the Church. It can be no good thing to teach children those things that are wrong. Teaching them to be disobedient to the Church and to not respect the liturgy cannot bring them closer to the Lord.

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: