is this morally ok

i have two cars at home and am buying a third car because my daughter is driving now, and she is 17. the salesman told me if we add a third car without mentionig my daughter, my car insurance bill would me much less. He said if they ask we will tell them the truth which will cause the amount of insurance to go up. He said there is no penality if they find out. Is this morally ok.

If you have to ask…

your policy probably specifically excludes a driver residing in your home who is not named on the policy, and if they find out you have a driver in the high risk age group who regularly uses one of the cars they are within their rights to void the policy because of fraud.

I work in the insurance industry as an investigator and I can give you a definitive answer.

I also refer you to your specific policy.

NO, it is not morally OK. By not naming a regular driver and therefore not being charged the rates due for the driver, this is called “rate evasion” which is a form of insurance fraud. It’s also called “misrepresentation”.

Some insurance companies will not cover your loss and may void your policy altogether if the misrepresentation is discovered. Please refer to your policy and look specifically for the wording regarding misrep.

I recently learned that most companies, when they discover forms of rate evasion will actually deny the claim where the misrepresentation/rate evasion is discovered.

You also run into the following issue: if your child is driving and is involved in an accident (and you live in a no-fault state), they will have to investigate to determine if the driver should be covered under your policy. If they operate as my company does, they will figure out that the teenage driver lives in your home and is a regular driver and they will cover the medical bills. OK, fine. But then they will rate that driver back to policy inception and charge you the back fees.

This is the most common type of fraud and people are caught all the time.