Is this valid?

Hello I’m a newbie with a question about Mass.
Last Friday and Sunday when I attended Mass and went up to receive Communion I was not given the usual round host but a triangular piece of bread. It was darker in colour and tasted heavier than normal hosts. I think it was still unleavened but I’m confused about whether it was valid or not. Also a female Eucharistic Minister was dressed in liturgical vestments and looked like a priest - is that ok? I am a revert and getting confused. Thanks for any help.

were you one of the first in the communion line? could have been part of the larger Host that the priest broke up and added to the hosts that were distributed.

The bread used can take on different colors and textures and still be valid matter. The female EMHC should not be dressed so as to imitate the vestments of the priest or deacon.

Hi Maryj, No I was amongst the last section of the congregation to receive. It looked like the bread/host had been deliberately cut into triangles not broken up during Mass. There were many more in the ciborium after mine was removed. Would the broken host be in a precise triangle do you think?

Yes I have seen it in a precise triangle after being broken by the priest at the altar.

Thank you Bro Rich. I thought it was strange. I’ve never seen it at Sunday Mass on either male or female EMHC. This Mass was to celebrate The Sacred Heart feastday on Friday last and was attended by the schoolchildren and parents at lunchtime.

It is the way it fractions, as the large host is round; if you watch closely as the priest breaks up the large host, you can see that it breaks into triangles.

Without more, it is hard to say if the EMHC was appropriately or inappropriately dressed. The EMHCs at our parish are in street clothtes - that is, what they wore to Mass.

As long as the bread is unleven - it is OK.