Is this way of praying the Rosary okay?

Hello everyone!

I’ve been praying the Rosary for many years but I’ve always been discouraged about the meditative aspect of it.

I feel a bit uneasy about the idea of praying Hail Marys without concentrating on the words so, would it be possible to use a scriptural formula like this: announce mystery -> Our Father (meditate on the words of the Our Father) -> scripture verse (meditate on the words of the scripture verse) -> Hail Mary (meditate on the words of the Hail Mary) -> scripture verse (meditate on the words of the scripture verse) -> Hail Mary (meditate on the words of the Hail Mary) et cetera?

Thank you in advance! :slight_smile:

Yeah. The Rosary is a private devotion, meaning that we don’t have to do it at all or even a certain way. You can pray the Rosary however you want.

I have been praying the Rosary everyday for 5 years. I still doubt whether my Rosary prayers have been properly done and accepted by The Holy Mother Mary.

Don’t worry- A mother still accepts the bad drawings of her children in the same way she would if she was given a Picasso :grinning: . Don’t worry- Mary accepts your prayer

Why does that make you uncomfortable? It seems to me that is really the essence of the rosary. The Aves are background to the meditation which is central. It is not that different than if you sang a religious hymn while doing the dishes except that with the rosary the meditations are themselves deeper prayer.